Recently I purchased a new Digital Bradly Smoker (Review to come), and it works perfectly for the amount of space we have in the backyard and our ability to get good smoking wood that doesn’t cost an arm and a leg. Since I have had it I have done two different batches of smoking the most recent batch I smoked a pork loin and some different sausage/bratwurst and thought I would share the results.

After letting the pork loin thaw overnight I laid out the bacon that I was going to wrap the pork loin in, I had some pepper bacon in the fridge from FFA so that is what I went with…..

After getting the bacon laid out I placed the pork loin in the center of the back where it would best wrap, I did go ahead and sprinkle some Head Country on the bacon for some added flavor…..

Then I proceeded to wrap the loin with the bacon using tooth picks to hold it in place, unfortunately the pork loin I was using was bigger than the pieces of bacon so I had to place a few strips down the middle so it would be completely covered…..

I then put it on the smoker at around 220 and let it smoke for 2.5 – 3 hours and then cook for another 1 – 1.5 before taking it off. The final product looked and tasted great…..

Now since I was using the smoker I couldn’t just cook one thing, so I also cooked some sausage and bratwurst. After smoking the bratwurst I moved it to the grill to finish cooking and I think it worked out pretty well. I did smoke the last piece of boudin that I had and it was awesome I loved it on the smoker…..

In addition to the above I also decided to try my hand at some baked beans. I took a couple of cans of Bush’s Baked Beans and then proceeded to add some Tabasco, a sliced jalapeno, some mustard and then salt and pepper. I let it smoke for around 1.5 – 2 hours and then moved them to the oven to finish cooking. I think they turned out really well giving them a nice smokey flavor and having some of the spice from the jalapeno but not overpowering…..

So far I think that everything has turned out very well on the smoker, there are definitely some things that I would probably do differently next time and I need to find a good meat thermometer. I’ll be working on putting together a post to actually review the smoker and then I just finished building a stand so that is to come as well.

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine